Apps and such

I’ve had a number of enquiries through various channels about whether we’ll make the SFE available as an app for mobile platforms. The answer is that we would like to, but that finishing the SFE text and getting the website working properly has to be our priority. So this is probably off somewhere in next year rather than this year. And, to be clear, we’d almost certainly have to charge for apps (unlike the website, which would remain free.) But with those provisos, here’s a small poll to ascertain demand, and which platforms our readers use. Comments also welcome, of course.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Apps and such

  1. Giles

    That’s me there with the lone WP7 vote. But the site works beautifully – great work by your web team – right now on my phone. So I don’t feel I *need* an app.

  2. Well, I knew *you* would be the lone troublemaker…

  3. If the app you’re considering is simply providing a front-end to the web version, I’d say don’t bother. I’d be more interested in an offline version, like the offline Wikipedia apps.

  4. First of all I want to congratulate you on getting the site up there and launched. Excellent work.

    This just occurred to me this morning about the app. One thing I would love to be able to do was scan a book (or film) in when I am in a bookshop and retrieve the author’s entry for it. I’m guessing this would be a lot of effort as I don’t think ISBNs are in the entries but I thought I’d throw it out there.

    Jake

  5. sorin

    I want a app more like Leonard Maltin Movie Guide (for iPhone).

  6. dcummings

    Amazon Kindle? Or is that Android?

Leave a Reply

