Welcome

Hello. This is the newly-established blog for the editorial team of the third edition of the Encyclopedia of Science Fiction. My name’s Graham Sleight, and I’m helping the editors John Clute, David Langford, and Peter Nicholls with the work on the project. (Believe me, there’s a lot of work…) The Encyclopedia will be launching later this year, and we already have a Twitter feed and a Facebook page. The new edition will be online in the first instance at www.sf-encyclopedia.com, published by our friends at Gollancz along with their “Gateway” e-books project. You can read more about our plans at this press release (PDF). There’s also information about the history of the Encyclopedia at Wikipedia.

We’ll be using this blog to talk in more detail about our plans as we approach the launch of the site, and then to answer comments and host discussions after we launch. For the moment, though, a general question. What would you like to know about the SFE? Leave a comment below and I’ll do my best to answer it. (And yes, this is partly to help me write an FAQ page for the website in the next few weeks…)

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Welcome

  1. If you need any help with Japan and/or Australia, let me know anytime as I’m an Australian journalist/writer who’s been based in Tokyo for a decade.

  2. I’m the proud owner of two copies of the original SFE, and I’ve been wondering for many years when a newer version would ever be published. To be honest, I’d pretty much given up hope ages ago, so I was absolutely delighted to find the link to this shortly after I joined up with Google+ (one of the first things I do when joining any new network online is type “science fiction” in the search box – I must be an addict or something).

    It’s no real surprise that the new edition would be online, the only really viable way to keep such an ever-evolving construct up-to-date. Should have happened years ago.

    Bring it on!

  3. Actually, my memory must be failing me. I have one copy of the First (1979) Edition, two copies of the Second (1993) Edition, and one copy of the Grolier CD-ROM edition plus Dave Langford’s indispensable SF View add-on, which turns the Grolier CD from a clunky hodge-podge into a masterful and invaluable piece of my SF arsenal. It’s been top of my SF resources for years.

    Dave, you are THE man, and I’m delighted that you’re involved with this incredible project. I will be a fanatical follower from now on of this blog and the SFE itself. Mostly lurking, as I don’t want to be a plague upon your existence, but I’ll be around, constantly. 🙂

  4. Andy Duncan

    Graham, the PDF link above may be broken, FYI.

Leave a Reply

